Mark Heading
Home De Rohan Craft Lodge No 9670 ST John & St Paul Craft and HRA Rose of Sharon Rose Croix No 35 Contact Us
Menu Navigation Bar by 4.1.1

The Templar Grand Masters

The Grand Master was absolute ruler over the order and answered only to the Pope. In fact so important was the Grand Master of the Templars that many felt comfortable as advisors to monarchs. One Master in a letter threatened a king with the possibility of his being removed from the throne. Whether the Grand Master had the power to accomplish this or not is immaterial. The fact is, that so powerful were these Templar leaders, and they could issue such a threat without fear of reprisal.

Powerful military leaders as they were, the Grand Masters were still governed by the same Templar Rule as the rest of the order, with some special privileges to befit their rank. Each Grand Master was equipped with five horses as opposed to the three that a knight of the order received. The Grand Master was given an entourage to escort him consisting of a sergeant on horse as well as a valet. The purpose of the valet was to attend to the Master and carry his lance and shield. Others in the company of the Master of the order were advisers, cooks and interpreters.

The Grand Masters Of The Knights Templar From 1118-1314

1118-1136 Hugh dePayens

1136-1146 Robert de Craon

1146-1149 Everard des Barres

1149-1153 Bernard de Tromelai

1153-1156 Andre de Montbard

1156-1169 Bertrand de Blanchefort

1169-1171 Philip de Milly

1171-1179 Odo de St Amand

1179-1184 Arnold de Toroga

1185-1189 Gerard de Ridefort

1191-1193 Robert de Sable

1193-1200 Gilbert Erail

1201-1208 Philip de Plessiez

1209-1219 William de Chartres

1219-1230 Pedro de Montaigu

(???)-1244 Armond de Perigord

1245-1247 Richard de Bures

1247-1250 William de Sonnac

1250-1256 Reynald de Vichiers

1256-1273 Thomas Berard

1273-1291 William de Beaujeu

1291-1293 Tibauld de Gaudin

1293-1314 Jacques de Molay




Jacques de Molay

The Grand Masters Of The Knights Templar From 1314

According to some, the Templar Masters did not end with DeMolay. According to a document called the Larmenius Charter (a copy of a similar document is to be found at No 10 Duke Street) this list went on to modern times. According to this tradition, Jacques de Molay passed over the Grand Mastership of the order to John Mark Larmenius whilst in prison. Larmenius carried on the duties of Grand Master in secret and this would be the case until the early 19th Century.

1313-1324 John-Marc Larmenius

1324-1340 Thomas Theobald of Alexandria

1340-1349 Arnaud de Braque

1349-1357 Jean de Claremont

1357-1381 Bertrand du Guesclin

1381-1392 Bernard Arminiacus

1419-1451 Jean Arminiacus

1451-1472 Jean de Croy

1472-1478 Bernard Imbault

1478-1497 Robert Leononcourt

1497-1516 Galeatius de Salazar

1516-1544 Phillippe Chabot

1544-1574 Gaspard de Galtiaco Tavanensis

1574-1615 Henri de Montmorency

1615-1651 Charles de Valois

1651-1681 Jacques Ruxellius de Granceio

1681-1705 Jacques Henri Duc de Duras

1705-1724 Phillippe, Duc d'Orleans

1724-1737 Louis Augustus Bourbon

1737-1741 Louis Henri Bourbon Conde

1741-1776 Louis-Francois Boubon Conti

1776-1792 Louis-Hercule Timoleon, Duc de Cosse Brissac

1792-1804 Claude-Mathieu Radix de Chavillon

1804-1838 Bernard Raymond Fabre Palaprat